CENSURE MOTION TO COUNCIL

This Council no longer has confidence in the current Leader, Nigel Daniels. Because of the lack of transparency, inclusion and respect being shown to colleague councillors during a Council meeting on 22nd March 2018.

At the meeting, a report was tabled to seek agreement on the managing Director's proposed senior management structure. One area of the report detailed the retirement of the Chief Finance Officer; this included access to his pension, annual payment and flexible retirement, a very attractive package whereby he would remain with the Council in a different role. The report was agreed upon by all thirty-four members present on the Day.

The recent Council meeting of 7th February 2022 dealt with the long-awaited report by Audit Wales into, 'Deficiencies in Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council's governance and oversight of Silent Valley Waste Services.' The report was a culmination of separate enquiries by Audit Wales and Gwent Police over the last four and a half years. It followed claims made by a former employee of the Council acting in a whistleblowing capacity in August of 2017.

The findings disclosed behaviours by senior officers that have since been described as appalling and labelled with such descriptions as flawed, self-serving and unlawful. The Chief Finance Officer was one of those named by the whistleblower; his name or title features some seventy times throughout the damning information laid before Council.

When questioned on 7th February, the Managing Director, Michelle Morris, revealed that Cllr Daniels had been a recipient of the original whistleblowing letter where the officer was named.

This means that on 22nd March 2018, Cllr Daniels had known that the recipient of the proposed flexible retirement was amongst those being investigated by both Gwent Police and Audit Wales for seven months before the meeting. He deliberately withheld this information from his council colleagues, who were completely ignorant of those involved in the investigation.

We have no confidence in Council Leader Nigel Daniels for the reasons outlined above.

Signed

Cllrs: Steve Thomas Phil Edwards Haydn Trollope Jonathan Millard Bernard Willis Malcolm Cross Tommy Smith John C Morgan Keith Havdn David Wilkshire Derrick Bevan Keith Pritchard Lvn Elias Peter Baldwin Lisa Winnett Tim Sharrem Hedley McCarthy